Soul song week: 4. You’re All I Need to Get By

I haven’t posted in a month. I have to rethink the scope of this blog, as it doesn’t mesh with what I’m doing in my course. Here’s a wonderful classic that Jerry Coyne shared on his blog yesterday, after all, music is art and art still needs to be the pivotal point of this blog, as directionless as it has become.

Why Evolution Is True

There are many great soul duets, but to my mind this is the best.  It’s Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell with their classic rendition of “You’re all I need to get by,” (1968), a song written by Nickolas Ashford and Valeree Simpson, themselves a singing duo.  It’s simply the most soulful of the Motown duets, and by that I mean there’s a lot of emotion in the voices.

Both Gaye and Terrell died young. Gaye was killed by his own father a day before he turned 45. Terrell (see below) was, when she recorded this song, already ill from the brain tumor that would kill her at age 24.

Wikipedia notes about this song:

. . . it became one of the few Motown recordings of the 1960s that was not recorded with the familiar “Motown sound“. Instead, “You’re All I Need to Get By” had…

View original post 114 more words

This entry was posted in Housekeeping, Reblogged. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

