Notes towards a mural #4

There’s no easy way to paint over something but sometimes you just have to. This canvas cost me a decent amount of money, too much for me to repeat the purchase right now (more dentist costs coming up too). This was the mock up for my mural, a fully-finished canvas painting that I’m going to square up and try to translate into mural spaces, but I’m unhappy with the composition in the upper two thirds. It started out okay, but I can’t fit appropriately sized figures into the scene, so I’m reworking the top as a Nuku’alofa street scene – more graphic and clean, too.

It also didn’t help that I’d turned the tapa cloth into hills. Tongatapu has very few hills (arguably only one), due to being a landmass formed upon coral. Eu’a is, if I recall correctly, one of the few hilly, volcanic of the larger Tongan islands, but I’m definitely thinking of this scene as situated in Tongatapu – at any rate, I’ve never been to Eu’a.

This entry was posted in Projects, Random Thoughts, Windy Studio and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

