Some Massey Art Students’ Work, Semester One, 2014

Lots of my classmates have been hard at work making interesting stuff. For finals I snapped photos of some of the work on display, quickly checking that people were cool with me popping the work up on my blog. I hope I haven’t got myself muddled on that score. This is far from an exhaustive list, it’s not “my favourites”, nor “the best”, but just some of what I felt comfortable snapping in terms of gaining permission, etc. My camera work leaves quite a bit to be desired in retrospect, but I think you get a feel for some of the works. I’ll keep my comments minimal, except for very brief exposition. Next time I’ll be sure to have a dictaphone and catch a brief description from the artists themselves – there’s always that risk of putting words in others’ mouths, so bear in mind the descriptions are mine, and could be faulty:

Laura Woodward

I realised too late I don’t have images of Laura’s final works. These are earlier, similar pieces. Space-specific wall paintings. The final pieces introduce a subtle blue into the mixture of greys. Acrylic on wall.

John Fuller

These photos don’t do the pieces justice, I nearly didn’t include them for that reason, but I do like John’s work a lot, and just want people to know it exists. He’s attracted to the unusual properties of ink, rather than paint. Scoring back into the wet ink, he’s made drippy, squiggly abstractions. Ink on wall.

David Matthews

Tactile and creepy works, David’s sculptures began as “self-portraiture”. Latex and acrylic on driftwood, and potentially other misc objects.

Sam Lee

Sam is a 4th year doing enormous charcoal wall drawings. He’s interesting in translating psychology and inner turmoil into fantasyscapes, and he’s a talented draftsperson. Charcoal over graphite on wall.

Angela Fisk

These photos cover two different displays by Angela, one from our school’s crit week, and one from her finals. Similar in theme to David’s work above, Angela explores body-like forms, particular the forms her own body can create in her materials. Coil-built terracotta greenware and plywood.

Laura Duffy

Zeroing in on abjection and mess as metaphor for psychological struggles, Laura’s work is ooky and strange, and involves a huge range of media. Old window frame, various rubbish, acrylic paint, and expanding foam. Lots of expanding foam.

Briana Jamieson

I find Briana’s acrylic paintings very wistful, and repeatedly mistake them for watercolour. They can’t help but remind me of that Robert Frost poem that featured so prominently in S E Hinton’s The Outsiders, Nothing Gold Can Stay. Acrylic on paper.

Louisa Beatty

These aren’t all of Louisa’s works, a large and similar piece was crinkled into a corner of the space, but that photo was horribly out-of-focus (my camera seems to be giving in). Note the graph-like qualities. Acrylic on paper.

Sophie Goodwin

Sophie’s attention to craft is pretty head-turning. Her pieces look extremely cared for. Her work seems to be interested mostly in tessellation and undulation and pattern, so I like the way a less formalist and more humanistic tendency peeks through in the mysterious water-y photo. Print on paper, wood on silk, with wood table construction.

Saskia Willox

This work was cool in its pragmatism, dedicated to upskilling the workshop in an artistic way. Saskia’s ply piece here was supplemented by a looped video of her constructing the piece. Plywood with metal brackets.

Sophia Gambitsis

Sophia likes the idea of painting with objects, and making somewhat surrealist spaces that draw on her Greek heritage, especially the way her family furnishes their home. I lay down in this space for a bit. Quite fun. Various furniture, carpet, cream wall paint.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

